Central Dauphin School District

600 Rutherford Road Harrisburg PA, 17109 • 717.545.4703

Quality to the Core

Taxpayer Information

Central Dauphin School District levies the following three taxes:  Real Estate Tax, Earned Income Tax, and Realty Transfer Tax.  Unlike other school districts in the area, Central Dauphin does not levy a per capita and occupation tax.

Real Estate Tax

Regular Tax Notices

The regular Central Dauphin School District Real Estate Tax notice is mailed to district residents on or about July 1 of each year.  Payments must be postmarked or received by your Tax Collector within the following periods:
  • Discount amount:  July 1 - August 30
  • Face amount:  September 1 - October 31
  • Penalty amount:  November 1 – December 31
Interim Tax Notices
Interim Central Dauphin School District Real Estate Tax notices are mailed to applicable residents on March 1 and August 1 each year.  Interim Real Estate Taxes result from additional assessments to your land and building values during the tax year, some examples include new home construction, pool installation and building additions.  The March 1 billing can be paid at the discounted amount from March 1 – April 30, at the face amount from May 1 – June 30, and at the penalty amount from July 1 – December 31.  The August 1 billing can be paid at the discounted amount from August 1 – September 30, at the face amount from October 1 – November 30, and at the penalty amount from December 1 – January 31.
Assessment Information
The tax is based on the assessed value of your land and building, which is determined by the Dauphin County Tax Office of Tax Assessment.  It can be found on your real estate bill.  The assessment value is not the market value.  To verify your property’s assessment value, you may contact the Dauphin County Office of Tax Assessment at (717) 780-6101 or online at www.dauphinpropertyinfo.org

The 2016-2017 millage rate for Central Dauphin School District is 15.2188 mills. A mill is one tenth of a percent. You can calculate your tax by multiplying the millage rate by your property’s assessed value. For example, a property valued at $100,000 multiplied by .0152188 (mills) yields a tax of $1,521.88.

Tax Collector and Payment Information

Dauphin Borough
Virginia Wynn, Tax Collector
200 Church St.
PO Box 487
Dauphin, PA  17018                
(717) 921-2633 

Middle Paxton Township
Tanya Pomeroy, Tax Collector
1140 Victor Lane
Dauphin, PA  17018
(717) 921-8737

Paxtang Borough
Helen J Koser, Tax Collector
468 North 32nd St
Harrisburg, PA  17111-1705
(717) 564-6747

Swatara Township
Joseph L Donato III, Treasurer
599 Eisenhower Blvd
P.O. Box 3255
Harrisburg, PA  17105
(717) 564-6155

Penbrook Borough
Dauphin County Treasurer's Office
Courthouse Room 105
101 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
(717) 780-6550 

West Hanover Township
Thomas Stewart, Tax Collector
7171 L Allentown Blvd
Harrisburg, PA 17112
(717) 545-1200

Lower Paxton Township
Diane Bair, Tax Collector4919-C (Rear)
Jonestown Rd               
Harrisburg, PA  17109
(717) 652-5555

It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to see that their taxes are paid.  For that reason, the bill is mailed to the property owner.  If the property owner has an escrow account with their bank or mortgage company, the taxpayer must forward the bill to them for payment.  Please follow-up with the bank or mortgage company to ensure the payment has been made.
Delinquent Real Estate Taxes

After December 31 of each year, all unpaid taxes are turned over for collection to:   

Dauphin County Tax Claim Bureau
Dauphin County Administration Bldg
2 South Second St
PO Box 1295
Harrisburg, PA  17108-1295
(717) 780-6125

Earned Income Taxes (EIT)

Residents of Central Dauphin School District are required to pay 2% of their earned income (salaries, wages, business profits, etc.).  The School District receives 1.5% and the home municipality receives .5%. 

Pennsylvania employers will deduct the earned income tax amount from your pay.  If you are self-employed, you must pay the required amount to the Earned Income Tax Collector by April 15 for the preceding calendar year, and are subject to quarterly estimated payments.

Keystone Collections Group is the EIT collector for the School District.  For additional information or forms, please visit www.keystonecollects.com under “Taxpayer Resources” or contact:


                    Keystone Collections Group

                        Phone (888) 328-0565

                        Fax (724) 978-0339

Political Subdivision (PSD) Codes for Local EIT purposes are as follows:
 Dauphin Boro  220101
 Lower Paxton Township  220102
 Middle Paxton Township
 Paxtang Boro  220104
 Penbrook Boro  220105 
 Swatara Township  220106
 West Hanover Township  220107
Central Dauphin School District’s school code for state income tax purposes is 22140

Realty Transfer Tax

Central Dauphin also levies a realty transfer tax.  The transfer tax is 2% of the sale price of the real estate property.  The state levies 1% of the value and the School District levies the other 1% of the value.  This tax is collected at settlement by the Dauphin County Recorder of Deeds.

Homestead & Farmstead Exclusion

The Taxpayer Relief Act – Act 1 of Special Session 1 of 2006 provides the homestead and/or farmstead exclusion to qualifying properties, as a means of reducing school real estate taxes.  These exclusions are administered by the Dauphin County Office of Tax Assessment.  For additional information, review “The Taxpayer Relief Act – Act 1 Special Session 1 of 2006” application at the link below:


If you need assistance, please call the Dauphin County Office of Tax Assessment at (717) 780-6101 during normal business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

PA Property Tax Rebate Program

The Pennsylvania Department of Revenue offers a property tax rebate program.  If you are 65 or older, a widow or widower (50 or older) or permanently disabled, owning and occupying a home in the District, you could qualify.  For additional information, click on the link below:


If you need assistance, please call 1-888-222-9190 during normal business hours, 7:30 a.m. to 5p.m.

Taxpayer Bill of Rights (click title for file)

If you have any questions regarding information found on this site, please contact the District at (717) 545-4703, extension 239.